Pakistani lawmakers sworn in, set to elect new premier on March 3

The newly elected members of Pakistan’s National Assembly were sworn in on Thursday amidst protests from allies of imprisoned former Prime Minister Imran Khan, claiming that the general elections were tainted by extensive rigging, VOA reported.

The elections for the 336-seat lower house of parliament and four provincial assemblies took place on February 8, with the hope that they would bring about political and economic stability in Pakistan, a country with a population of approximately 241 million.

The parliament is set to elect the country’s new prime minister for a five-year term on March 3, according to the schedule issued by the National Assembly secretariat on Thursday.

A coalition led by the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has named Shehbaz Sharif, the former prime minister and the head of the PML-N, as its candidate for the coveted post for a second term.

Whereas, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) of the jailed ex-Prime Minister Imran Khan has pitched its chief organizer Omar Ayub Khan as its candidate for the coveted post.

A candidate needs 169 votes in the 336-member parliament to be elected the premier.

Related Articles

Back to top button